Since 1995, the House has failed to pass a rule eight times, all during Republican-led House chambers – until this year. Newt Gingrich had six rule votes fail during his four-year tenure as speaker (1995-1999), and Dennis Hastert suffered two rule defeats in his eight years as speaker. (1999-2007) So far, in his eight months as speaker, Kevin McCarthy has lost three rule votes, bringing the total up to 11 since 1995. Speakers John Boehner, Nancy Pelosi and Paul Ryan never lost a rule vote during their tenures.